The Omaha Metropolitan Area (OMA) Tourism Awards is an annual tradition to honor attractions, restaurants, hotels, and retail shops that have made a difference in the lives of our visitors and residents. The public is encouraged to honor those exceptional experiences and businesses by nominating and later voting for the best tourism businesses in Pottawattamie, Douglas, and Sarpy counties. 

Now is the time to place your nominations for the best attraction, restaurant, hotel, and retail shop in Pottawattamie County! Nominations are open until February 28, 2024. As a reminder, Pottawattamie County includes Avoca, Carson, Carter Lake, Council Bluffs, Crescent, Hancock, Honey Creek, Macedonia, McClelland, Minden, Neola, Oakland, Treynor, Underwood, and Walnut.  

  • NOMINATIONS OPEN: February 2 - 28, 2024
  • VOTING FOR FINALISTS: March 1 - 31, 2024
  • WINNERS ANNOUNCED: May 19 - 25, 2024

Nominate Pottawattamie's Best!

Please note that the 2023 and 2022 OMA Tourism Award winners are not eligible for nomination this year. You can view a list of past winners down below. 

Past Winners: 

The 2023 and 2022 OMA Tourism Award winners are not eligible this year. 

Best Attraction:

  • 2023: Dreamland Theatre (Carson) 
  • 2022: Union Pacific Railroad Museum 

Best Hotel:

  • 2023: Ameristar Casino Hotel
  • 2022: Courtyard by Marriott Council Bluffs 

Best Restaurant: 

  • 2023: Back Forty (Macedonia) 
  • 2022: Boxer BBQ 

Best Retail Shop:

  • 2023: The Occasional Collective (Treynor) 
  • 2022: Dusted Charm (Council Bluffs) 

The OMA Tourism Awards are brought to you by partner destinations Sarpy County Tourism, Visit Omaha, and the Council Bluffs Convention & Visitors Bureau. Click here to learn more about the awards. 

This post was originally published on February 1, 2024 on the Watta Way blog.